Color Your World Wild Strawberry

Today, let’s Color Your World Wild Strawberry

I will be off-line this weekend. If anyone involved in the challenge happens to see this, would you link it up for me. Thank you!

Photo and Chef Extraordinaire--David Slotto

Photo and Chef Extraordinaire–David Slotto

 

Photo: Victoria Slotto I couldn't resist the real thing, growing along the route where I walk the dogs.

Photo: Victoria Slotto
I couldn’t resist the real thing, growing along the route where I walk the dogs. The strawberry is smaller than in the photo.

I’d like to add a poem I wrote a few years back, inspired, in part, by this plant.

I Am One

 

I Am

a wild strawberry,

woven among

low-lying oleander branches.

 

I Am

the fear that brushes

by your body in

the darkness of a dream.

 

I Am

cloud-fingers,

slipping over

mounded slopes

 

of snow-capped

Santa Rosa mountains,

bringing rain

and night.

 

I slap

the rounded curves of

wind-stroked cheeks

turned skyward.

 

I Am the hummingbird.

that hovers just outside

your window,

promising spring.

 

Copyright, Victoria C Slotto

 

One thought on “Color Your World Wild Strawberry

Leave a Reply

